A moment of sun.

From Whitehorse to Inuvik – from night to light. We partnered with Tom Parker on our 4MATIC expedition to the top of the world so the rest of Canada could experience an unforgettable moment: the sun cresting the arctic horizon for the first time after 30 days of darkness.

Meet Tom Parker>

Tom Parker

Photographer

I'm Tom, a Vancouver-based outdoor photographer. Light is everything in photography, so what does photography look like in the months where there isn't any? The opportunity of taking photographs in a remote part of Canada that experiences perpetual darkness for 30 days is a prospect I couldn't say no to.

The
Journey
Begins

We begin our 4MATIC journey at night. Darkness is my canvas, so I rely on the black blanket of the night sky to illuminate my subject matter on our trip north. When we reach Inuvik, we'll bring an incredible moment, witnessed by those living in the most remote parts of Canada, to the rest of the nation: the sun cresting the arctic horizon for the first time after 30 days of darkness.

Whitehorse
to Inuvik

Our 1,223-km journey begins in Whitehorse. Our first stretch: Klondike Highway to Dempster Highway. It's an endless labyrinth of frozen bog, stone and once-upon-a-time greenery encased in darkness and ice.

It's vast, beautiful and desolate all at once – it's alluring. We welcome the road trip banter yet marvel in silence under the ever-night sky. From Eagle Plains to Fort McPherson, we cross the Mackenzie River into the Arctic Circle and pull into Inuvik.

The long winter night stretches far into the horizon – the sky often ablaze in auburn. Its light, a playful dance between sunrise and sunset, colours the sky five hours a day. All the while, the sun never makes an appearance: it stays just below the skyline.

Inuvik to Tuktoyaktuk

There was an excitement in the air as the town prepared for the imminent arrival of the sunrise. With only another 127 km to Tuktoyaktuk, Canada’s northernmost settlement accessible by car, we couldn’t resist the opportunity to visit it. We drove up the newly opened Inuvik-Tuktoyaktuk Highway to weather the final 2 hours of Canada’s arctic and test the limits of our 4MATIC vehicle.

On this icy plane, we experienced -37 °C weather that was biting and beautiful. Pristine snow and frozen temperatures brought landscapes to a standstill, allowing for extraordinary compositions, acute clarity, and a renewed sense of how amazing our country is.

The
Sunrise
Festival

We returned to Inuvik to witness the magic of the sun’s return. The community celebrates with a massive, warm bonfire and a spectacular fireworks show which was unlike anything I've ever experienced before. Seeing the sun rise after such a long stretch of darkness was incredible. It was the perfect ending to an epic journey.

L’arrivée du soleil.

De Whitehorse à Inuvik - de l’obscurité à la lumière. Nous embarquons avec Tom Parker à bord de notre 4MATIC pour une expédition qui nous mènera au sommet du monde. Nous voulons que le reste du Canada puisse vivre avec nous une expérience inoubliable : le soleil qui se pointe à l’horizon en Arctique, pour la première fois après 30 jours d’obscurité.

Voici Tom Parker

Tom Parker

photographe

Je suis Tom. J’habite Vancouver et je suis photographe de plein air. La lumière est très importante en photographie, alors à quoi peuvent bien ressembler les photographies prises durant les mois où il n’y en a pas du tout? Quand on m’a donné l’occasion de prendre des photos dans une région reculée du Canada où la lumière est absente pendant 30 jours, je n’ai pas pu refuser.

Le
voyage
commence

Nous commençons notre voyage dans notre 4MATIC en pleine nuit. La noirceur est mon canevas. Je me sers de l’obscurité comme toile de fond pour éclairer mes sujets tout au long de notre voyage vers le nord. Quand nous serons à Inuvik, nous rapporterons au reste du pays le témoignage d’un moment incroyable que vivent les habitants de ces régions éloignées au Canada : le soleil qui se pointe à l’horizon en Arctique pour la première fois après 30 jours d’obscurité.

De Whitehorse à Inuvik

Notre voyage de 1 223 km commence à Whitehorse. Notre premier trajet sans arrêt : de la Klondike Highway à la Dempster Highway. C’est un labyrinthe sans fin d’étangs gelés, de pierres et de rares verdures enveloppé d’obscurité et de glace.

C’est vaste, beau et désolant à la fois. C’est fascinant! Nous entamons ce voyage en blaguant, mais aussi dans le silence, car nous sommes tous émerveillés sous ce ciel toujours si noir. D’Eagle Plains jusqu’à Fort McPherson, nous croisons la fleuve Mackenzie dans le cercle polaire et nous arrivons à Inuvik.

La longue nuit d’hiver s’étend, loin dans l’horizon – souvent, le ciel rougeâtre semble s’embraser. Comme une danse espiègle entre l’aube et le crépuscule, la lumière colore le ciel environ cinq heures par jour. Pendant ce temps, le soleil reste caché, juste sous la ligne d’horizon.

D’Inuvik à Tuktoyaktuk

Il y avait de l’excitation dans l’air, car la ville se préparait à l’arrivée imminente du soleil. Comme il n’y a que 127 km jusqu’à Tuktoyaktuk, l’installation la plus au nord accessible par voiture au Canada, on se devait d’y aller. Nous avons pris la toute nouvelle Inuvik-Tuktoyaktuk Highway pour affronter les deux dernières heures de l’Arctique canadien et tester les limites de notre 4MATIC.

Sur ce plan verglacé, la météo à la fois mordante et magnifique nous offrait -37 °C. La neige immaculée et les températures glaciales endormaient le paysage, laissant place à des compositions extraordinaires, à une clarté pénétrante, et à une nouvelle interprétation de la magnificence de notre pays.

Le
Sunrise
Festival

Nous sommes retournés à Inuvik pour assister au retour tant attendu du soleil. La communauté célèbre la magie du moment avec un gigantesque feu de joie et de spectaculaires feux d’artifice – jamais je n’ai vécu quelque chose de semblable auparavant dans ma vie. Voir le soleil émerger après cette longue période d’obscurité était incroyable. La conclusion parfaite de cette grande aventure.